Understand how we got here — and how to move forward.


May 8, 2018

CMS gives 213 hospitals 'five stars' for patient experience. See how yours fared on our map.

Daily Briefing

    See our map of hospital star ratings

    CMS on April 25 updated its Hospital Compare website with new Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) summary star ratings.

    Just updated: Your CMS HCAHPS patient experience star rating cheat sheet

    CMS' summary star rating scores hospitals on a one-to-five-star scale based on the 11 publicly reported measures in HCAHPS survey, which assesses patient experiences. The agency started assigning hospitals patient experience star ratings based solely on HCAHPS scores in April 2015. The latest update is based on HCAHPS survey data collected between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2017.

    The patient experience summary star ratings are distinct from CMS' overall quality star ratings, which are scheduled to be updated in July. Overall star ratings are based on 62 quality measures from seven categories: effectiveness of care, efficient use of imaging, mortality, patient experience, readmissions, safety, and timeliness of care.

    How hospitals fared

    According to CMS, 3,466 hospitals had an HCAHPS summary star rating as of April 25. Of those hospitals:

    Hospital Patient Experience Star Rating Map
    View the map in full size

    Star ratings reflect HCAHPS surveys competed between July 1, 2016 and June 30, 2017, as displayed in the Hospital Compare update released on April 25, 2018.

    Just updated: Your CMS HCAHPS patient experience star rating cheat sheet

    Download our one page sheet for a summary on the methodology and metric categories used in the CMS HCAHPS Patient Experience Star Rating.

    Download Now

    Have a Question?


    Ask our experts a question on any topic in health care by visiting our member portal, AskAdvisory.