HHS honors 37 hospitals for combating infections

Topics: Infection Control, Quality, Performance Improvement

May 3, 2011

HHS on Monday for the first time recognized 37 hospitals and health care systems for their efforts to combat health care-associated infections (HAIs), which affect one in every 20 U.S. patients and cost the nation billions of dollars per year.

In collaboration with the Critical Care Societies Collaborative (CCSC), HHS created the new national awards program to recognize successful and continued efforts to combat HAIs, especially in critical care settings. The awards highlight hospital efforts in two areas: prevention of central-line associated bloodstream infections (CLABSIs) and prevention of ventilator-associated pneumonia. Each organization received either the Outstanding Leadership Award for meeting infection-prevention goals for at least 25 months, or the Sustained Improvement Award for consistent progress across an 18-to-24-month period.

Ten award recipients were recognized on Monday during an American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) exposition in Chicago. The remaining 27 organizations will be recognized throughout the year at other CCSC events.

"These awards strive to motivate clinicians, hospital executives, and facilities to improve clinical practice so the health care community cannot only reduce, but eventually eliminate health care-associated infections," AACN's director of professional practice and programs said. "The awards recognize teams of critical care professionals whose notable achievements lead the way toward achieving this goal."

The Achievements in Eliminating Ventilator-Associated Pneumonia and CLABSIs award recipients are:

Outstanding Leadership Award

  • St. Joseph Mercy Hospital (Ann Arbor, Mich.)
  • Mercy Hospital ICU (St. Paul, Minn.)
  • North Shore-LIJ Health System (New York, N.Y.)
  • Riverside Methodist Hospital (Columbus, Ohio)

Sustained Improvement Award

  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (Boston, Mass.)
  • Detroit Medical Center (Detroit, Mich.)
  • Lakeland HealthCare (St. Joseph, Mich.)
  • Norman Regional Health System (Norman, Okla.)
  • Salem Health Critical Care Services (Salem, Ore.)
  • Baptist Memorial Hospital-Memphis (Tenn.)

The Achievements in Eliminating CLABSIs award recipients are:

Outstanding Leadership Award

  • Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital Newborn Special Care Unit (New Haven, Conn.)
  • HealthPark Medical Center Open Heart ICU (Ft. Myers, Fla.)
  • University of Michigan Hospitals & Health Centers Critical Care Medicine Unit (Ann Arbor, Mich.)
  • Children’s Hospital & Clinics of Minnesota (Minneapolis)
  • Stony Brook University Medical Center (East Setauket, N.Y.)
  • Rome Memorial Hospital (Rome, N.Y.)
  • Lehigh Valley Health Network (Allentown, Penn.)
  • Cook Children’s Medical Center (Fort Worth, Texas)

Sustained Improvement Award

  • Children’s National Medical Center (Washington, D.C.)
  • Howard County General Hospital (Baltimore, Md.)
  • Rochester General Hospital (N.Y.)
  • Akron Children’s Hospital NICU (Ohio)
  • Cleveland Clinic Cardiovascular ICU (Ohio)
  • Medina Hospital ICU (Ohio)

The Achievements in Eliminating Ventilator-Associated Pneumonia award recipients are:

Outstanding Leadership Award

  • Seton Medical Center (Daly City, Calif.)
  • University Hospital (Augusta, Ga.)
  • St. Catherine of Siena Medical Center (New York, N.Y.)
  • Johnson City Medical Center (Johnson City, Tenn.)
  • Baylor University Medical Center Truett ICU (Dallas, Texas)
  • St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital (Houston, Texas)

Sustained Improvement Award

  • St. Joseph Hospital Orange (Orange, Calif.)
  • Huntington Memorial Hospital (Pasadena, Calif.)
  • Palmdale Regional Medical Center (Palmdale, Calif.)
  • Saint Anne’s Hospital (Fall River, Mass.)
  • Carolinas Medical Center NeuroSurgical ICU (Charlotte, N.C.)
  • Highland Hospital ICU (Rochester, N.Y.)
  • Providence St. Mary Medical Center (Walla Walla, Wash.) (HHS release, 5/2; McKinney, Modern Healthcare, 5/2 [subscription required]).