Which hospitals are most likely to meet Stage 1 meaningful use?

Large hospitals, academic centers outpace other facilities

This story was updated at 1:10 p.m. ET.

Hospitals nationwide are striving to achieve Stage 1 meaningful use for electronic health records (EHRs)—but which ones are the most likely to succeed? New data from HIMSS Analytics reveal which hospitals are ahead of the pack.

Based on data from a survey of 585 hospitals that HIMSS Analytics tracks in a database on meaningful use readiness, HIMSS Analytics identified seven types of hospitals that typically outpace other hospitals in health IT adoption. They are:

  • Academic medical centers;
  • General medical/surgical hospitals;
  • Hospitals with between 400 and 499 licensed beds;
  • Hospitals with 500 or more licensed beds;
  • Urban hospitals;
  • Multiple-site hospitals; and
  • Hospitals that have achieved stages 5, 6, or 7 on the HIMSS Analytics Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model.

The data show that 60% of hospitals with more than 500 beds said they are ready or likely to be ready to meet Stage 1 meaningful use requirements, compared with 20% of hospitals with less than 100 beds.

HIMSS Analytics also found that about 25% of hospitals said their organization protects data in EHRs by conducting security risk analyses (Monegain, Healthcare IT News, 2/17; HIMSS Analytics release, 2/17).

Update: Stage 2 meaningful use rule will be released on Thursday
Farzad Mostashari, the national coordinator for health IT, has announced that CMS's proposed Stage 2 meaningful use rule will be released on Thursday.

Speaking at the HIMSS 2012 conference, Mostashari offered a "sneak peek" of the rule, which he says was submitted to the Federal Register on Wednesday. According to Mostashari, his office has "stayed the course" with the proposed Stage 2 rule, which will include considerable flexibility and better align with accountable care measures, he said.

Federal officials also previewed several additional details. Health IT blogger Brian Ahier has reported that HHS's Direct Project will be a required part of Stage 2 certification. Stage 2 also will include imaging and eRx for discharge in an inpatient setting, according to Jorge Camargo.

Next in the Daily Briefing

CMS releases 2013 payment, policy guidelines for Medicare Advantage

Read now